Nov. 22: SMS Hosts Robotics Competition

Shelbyville Middle School students Vivian McIntire and Kaylan McIntire, daughters of Jeremy and Heidi McIntire, team up for a match during Saturday's Robotics competition held at SMS. Teams from each Shelbyville Central Schools' elementary schools and SMS competed, as did visiting schools. Assisting with officiating and announcing duties in the photo are Shelbyville High School students Jacob DuPont, left, and Emmie Higgins. The SMS robotics team of JJ Monroe, Max Lockridge, Malaki Sutton and Cora DeBaun qualified Saturday for the Indiana State Robotics Championship, to be held at Lucas Oil Stadium March 2024. | photo by KRISTIAAN RAWLINGS

This Day in Shelby County History

2013: Reality star Rupert Boneham approached Shelby County Commissioners about bringing his Rupert's Kids foundation to Shelbyville. He had been in talks with city officials for some time.

2003: The Shelbyville High School girls basketball team defeated Roncalli with senior Gwen Haehl, who had missed most of the previous two seasons with knee and leg injuries, leading the way.

1993: Ron Huffman wrapped up a 20-year stint keeping score for Waldron's boys basketball games. Huffman came to Waldron as a math teacher in 1972. During his first year, he scouted some games for then-Waldron coach Dave Omer. He eventually became scorekeeper, remaining in that role for over 800 games.

1983: Shelbyville High School students presented "Camelot" on stage. Major characters in the musical included Brian Ernstes as King Arthur, Diane Pruitt as Guenevere, Ken Smith as Lancelot, Danny Crafton as King Pellinore, Kevin Nolley as Mordred and David Jordan as Merylyn. Others in the cast included Brad Morrow, Tonya Napier, John Bogeman, Troy Burton, Todd Gavin, Tony Glaub, David Jordan, Jody Parrott, Eric Rogian, Mike Taylor and Dennis Thomas. Ladies of the Camelot were Gina Burton, Tammi Burton, Sharon Caudill, Susan Chesebrough, Lee Ann Christian, DeAnna DeBaun, Lorie Hirschauer, Judy Jordan, Rene Luck, Donna Owlsely, Shirley Rogian and Angie Weintraut. Dancers were Jennifer Branson, Judy Justice, Michelle Kuhn, Tonya Napier, Vicki Pottinger, Michelle Robbins and Linda Wiley. The play was directed by Barbara Fairchild.

1973: Mary Veercamp was crowned Southwestern's Homecoming Queen. She was escoreted by Tony Mohr.

1963: Thomas A. Hendricks School was the first winner of the Jaycee Fire Prevention plaque. Tony Conger, chairman of the Jaycee committee, presented the plaque to Elaine Fromer, president of the school safety council, and Principal H.B. Kysar.

1953: The junior class of Boggstown High School presented "Headin' for a Weddin'" under the direction of theater coach Elizabeth Townsend. Cast members were Carlos Gibson Gray, Mike Hanahan, Roberta Adams, Eileen Shaw, Carolyn Taylor, Nancy Fraker, Mary Hudson, Clara Tull, Bill Scott, Dick Hofman, Dawn Watts, Juanita Tillison, Dora Slevin and Beverly Donoho.

1943: Thanks to a $100 contribution from the Shelbyville Lions Club, the Shelby County Soldier Gift Fund would be able to continue to purchase fountain pens for those drafted into military service.

1933: Charles Goebel, Assistant Chief of Police for 11 years, was named new Police Chief. Goebel had been on the local police force 22 years.

1923: A man filing for divorce in Shelby County Circuit Court alleged his wife had gone to dances and "other places of amusement" without his consent, and that she had squandered so much of his money he couldn't even get a shave.